Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
We fight for justice, integrity, and civil rights.
Miami Criminal Defense Attorney / Miami DUI Second Offense Attorney

Miami DUI Second Offense Attorney

Getting one DUI is bad enough. While charged as a misdemeanor, there are still many possible penalties involved. A second DUI can really wreak havoc on your life, especially if it happened soon after your first one.

Florida law separates the second offense of driving under the influence into two categories based on when it occurred. If the second DUI takes place within five years, the penalties for the charge can be much more severe. If it happened after five years, you will still likely face harsh penalties, but they won’t be as severe.

If you have been charged with a second DUI offense, it is important to have an experienced DUI attorney by your side that can fight for your rights and protect you from the consequences. This is when a Miami DUI second offense attorney from Asilia Law Firm can help you.

Penalties for Second Offense DUIs

If you are charged with a second offense DUI, it is still considered a misdemeanor, just like a first offense. However, there are still many penalties involved. A second offense that occurs more than five years after the first DUI will result in fines, imprisonment, license revocation, DUI school, and an ignition interlock device. If the second DUI offense took place within five years of the first DUI charge or if the blood alcohol content is 0.15 or higher, the second DUI is considered enhanced. This means there will be increased fines and jail time as well as other mandatory penalties.

For a second DUI, the court will impose a fine between $1,000 and $2,000. For an enhanced second DUI, the fines are doubled, ranging from $2,000 to $4,000. Jail time is also required. The jail term can be as much as nine months. For an enhanced DUI, the jail sentence can be as long as 12 months. There is a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail. At least 48 hours of the sentence must be served consecutively.

Your driver’s license will also be revoked if you get a second DUI. The court imposes a minimum 180-day revocation of your license. This can be increased to as long as a year. For an enhanced second DUI, the court can revoke a driver’s license for up to five years. Your license cannot be reinstated until after DUI school is completed. DUI school is required for anyone convicted of a second DUI offense. It entails 21 hours of instruction, with an evaluation conducted at the end to see whether or not additional treatment is necessary.

Contact Asilia Law Firm Today

Florida law is harsh with drinking and driving, as many people are injured or killed by someone else’s intoxication. If you are facing a second DUI charge, it’s important that you seek legal help right away.

A Miami DUI second offense attorney from Asilia Law Firm can assist you. We know how such a charge can have a direct impact on your personal and professional life. To schedule a consultation with our office, call (786) 420-3014 or fill out the online form.

Get The Justice
You Deserve

Request Your Free Consultation

All Fields Required

By submitting this form I acknowledge that contacting Asilia Law Firm through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

protected by reCAPTCHA Privacy - Terms