Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
We fight for justice, integrity, and civil rights.
Miami Criminal Defense Attorney / Miami DUI Third Offense Felony Attorney

Miami DUI Third Offense Felony Attorney

Many people think DUIs are minor offenses. After all, they are primarily charged as misdemeanors. However, multiple DUIs can lead to a felony charge.

Under Florida state law, a person can be charged with a DUI if they are driving or being under actual physical control of a vehicle and they are under the influence of alcoholic beverages or any chemical substance (including drugs or prescription medications) to the point where a person’s normal faculties are impaired.

It is presumed that a person who has multiple DUIs may be considered a threat to public safety. Those who have a third DUI within 10 years of a second DUI conviction will be punished severely under the law. In fact, under § 316.193(2)(b)(2) of the Florida Statutes, a third DUI within 10 years of the most recent DUI offense may be charged as a third-degree felony.

This is a serious situation, as a felony charge can greatly affect you for many years. Defend yourself with help from a Miami DUI third offense felony attorney from Asilia Law Firm.

Penalties Involved

If a third DUI conviction occurs within a period of 10 years of any prior DUI conviction, then the offense can be charged as a third-degree felony. This means that the penalties are enhanced. A person will likely face most or all of the following forms of punishment:

  • Up to five years in prison
  • A fine of up to $5,000
  • Vehicle impound
  • Driver’s license revocation for 10 years
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Probation
  • Community service
  • DUI school
  • Alcohol and/or drug evaluation and treatment
  • Additional fees and court costs

A third DUI will also result in higher auto insurance rates.

A third-time DUI offender convicted of DUI with serious bodily injury or death will face even greater penalties than listed above. DUI manslaughter and vehicular homicide are charged as second-degree felonies, which can result in a $10,000 fine and/or 15 years in prison. A driver convicted of DUI manslaughter or vehicular homicide who flees the accident scene without stopping is guilty of a first-degree felony, which is punishable by a $10,000 fine and 30 years in prison.

An administrative driver’s license suspension is mandated in any Florida DUI case. A temporary driving permit may be available after a DUI arrest. However, a person accused of DUI has only 10 days to request a formal review hearing before the Florida Board of Administrative Reviews, so time is of the essence.

Contact Asilia Law Firm Today

If you have three DUI convictions in a short period of time, you could be facing felony charges. Defend yourself from these harsh penalties.

A qualified criminal defense attorney can help you fight the charges and protect your driving privileges. This is when a Miami DUI third offense felony attorney from Asilia Law Firm can be a great help. Schedule a consultation by calling (786) 420-3014 or filling out the online form.

Get The Justice
You Deserve

Request Your Free Consultation

All Fields Required

By submitting this form I acknowledge that contacting Asilia Law Firm through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

protected by reCAPTCHA Privacy - Terms